Select Page

The Kabaw Valley was historically the border region between Awa (in present-day Burma) and Muneepoor[12] (formerly known as Kangleipak or meitr tobacco). King Kiyamba (1467-1508), son of King Khomba, was known as “conqueror of the Kabaw Valley,” as he finished with his friend, Chaopha Khe Khomba, king of the Pong-Kingdom of Pong (Shan) of present-day Myanmar, the conquest of the Kubo Valley in 1475[13] The valley is placed in Manipur according to maps that were not published until 1852 in Calcutta[14][15] It must also be remembered that according to the Treaty of Yandabo[16] , Ningthee River was undoubtedly the natural border between Manipur and Burma. [17] In 1834, it was agreed between the British government and the pro-government that monthly aid would be suspended if the Kabaw Valley did not return to Manipur under any circumstances. [18] In the short term, such a lack of consultation was not delayed, as India succeeded in signing the agreement and demarcating the border. But the ensuing protests in Manipur, Nagaland, Assam, and then Mizoram, allowed India to never translate the agreement into a border treaty as it had imagined. The agreement also fuelled complaints about India`s “colonial” approach to the northeast and became a strong narrative plank within various insurgent movements. Unfortunately, despite the constant (or even economic) political and economic integration of the Northeast with India, the border council continues to continue over the decades. The BJP had previously accused Jawaharlal Nehru of Manipur`s border problem with Myanmar because it had not claimed the Kabaw Valley (Myanmar) during the 1947 demarcation. In the Middle Ages, Manipur and Burmese kings often tore the valley until the British defeated the Burmese and signed the Treaty of Yandaboo in 1826. But the valley was returned to Burma in the second contract of 1834 and a border between British India and Burma was drawn by Captain R.B. Pemberton. The Pemberton Line had omitted some restless kuki areas that were slipped in 1881 into a rectified boundary called johnstone Line. The boundary was drawn in 1896 to have 38 columns and to be known as Maxwell or Pemberton-Johnstone-Maxwell Line.

But Burma never participated in these exercises until India and Burma became independent.